Posted on: September 10, 2013

National Under-11 Chess Championship: Ram Aravind & Priyanka Nutakki won the title

By Antara Das

Share on Facebook
National Under-11 Chess Championship: Ram Aravind & Priyanka Nutakki won the title

It has been reported that top seeds Ram Aravind of Tamil Nadu and Priyanka Nutakki of Andhra Pradesh captured the boys and girls titles respectively of the National Under-11 Chess Championship, which ended up at the Ludlow Castle Sports Complex on Tuesday.

Notably, Ram overpowered Barath M of Goa, while Priyanka got the better of Lakshmi C of Tamil Nadu in the eleventh and final round of the tournament.

While playing with the black pieces, Ram encountered some firm resistance from his Goan opponent but successfully secured full point to take his point to 10. Remarkably, he won nine and drawn two during this eleven round Swiss System tournament to clinch the trophy with an unbeaten record.

On the other side, in the girl's section, Priyanka overcame her final round opponent comfortably without much struggle within 37 moves to record her tenth victory in the tourney. Particularly, the only lose she suffered in the event was against Samridhaa Ghosh of West Bengal in the 4th round. Notably, Samridhaa occupied 5th position in the championship with seven and half points.

Meanwhile, Vantika Agrawal brought fresh laurels to home crowd by capturing the runner-up position in the girl's title with nine points following hammering Krystal Fernandes of Goa in the final round.

On the other hand, Odisha combo Salonika Saina and Anwesha Mishra tied for the third spot. However, better tie break score assisted her later to end up as second runner-up.

Subsequently in the Open section, four players including local star Aansh Gupta tied for the second spot with eight and half points but better Buccholz tie break score pushed Rahul Srivatshav of Andhra Pradesh to end up second. In addition, second seed Saurabh Anand of Bihar, who trounced Rahul in the final round, finished third.

Further, Neelash Saha of West Bengal and Aansh Gupta of Delhi satisfied with fourth and fifth spot finish respectively.

At last but not the least, in a colorful closing ceremony, CEO of All India Chess Federation Bharat Singh Chauhan distributed the prizes in the presence of secretary Delhi Chess Association AK Verma, Sudarshan Kumar, secretary Himachal Pradesh Chess Association Atul Kumar, secretary of Jammu & Kashmir Chess Association and secretary Delhi Gujarati Samaj Shambu Ved.

More from Antara Das

News Updates

View All News
  • Campus Learn
  • RNJ Consultancy Services