Posted on: June 11, 2014

FIFA World Cup “Golden Glove” History.

By A.d. Jaat

Share on Facebook
FIFA World Cup “Golden Glove” History.

The Golden Glove Award is awarded to the best goalkeeper of the tournament. Before 2010, the award was named the Yashin Award in honour of the late Soviet goalkeeper Lev Yashin.[9] The FIFA Technical Study Group recognises the top goalkeeper of the tournament based on the player's performance throughout the final competition. Although goalkeepers have this specific award for their position, they are still eligible for the Golden Ball as well, as when Oliver Kahn was awarded in 2002. Although the Golden Glove Award was first awarded in 1994, every All-Star Team in World Cups prior to 1998 included only one goalkeeper.


World Cup

Goalkeeper included in the All-Star Team

1930 Uruguay

 Enrique Ballesteros

1934 Italy

 Ricardo Zamora

1938 France

 František PlániÄ�ka

1950 Brazil

 Roque Máspoli

1954 Switzerland

 Gyula Grosics

1958 Sweden

 Harry Gregg

1962 Chile

 Viliam Schrojf

1966 England

 Gordon Banks

1970 Mexico

 Ladislao Mazurkiewicz

1974 West Germany

 Sepp Maier

1978 Argentina

 Ubaldo Fillol

1982 Spain

 Dino Zoff

1986 Mexico

 Jean-Marie Pfaff

1990 Italy

 Sergio Goycochea


The Yashin Award was first awarded in 1994.

World Cup

Yashin Award winner

1994 United States

 Michel Preud'homme

1998 France

 Fabien Barthez

2002 Korea/Japan

 Oliver Kahn

2006 Germany

 Gianluigi Buffon


The award was renamed the Golden Glove Award in 2010.

World Cup

Golden Glove Award winner

2010 South Africa

 Iker Casillas

More from A.d. Jaat

Blog Updates

View All Blog
  • Campus Learn
  • RNJ Consultancy Services