Imperfect Malinga, delivers a perfect last over, to cease the victory for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2019 Final - Googly Mania










IPL FINAL - Nerve Breaking Approach to Steal the Show

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians took it to last ball, with some members of both teams putting up a sloppy performance while others engaging in a brilliant show, until the very last minute as Mumbai finally seized a 1-run victory to lift the title for the 4th time in 12 seasons. As Mumbai opted to bat first after winning the toss, Quinton de Kock (29 out; 17b; 4X6) was smashing sixes in Deepak Chahar’s 3rd over, until Shardul Thakur restricted his knock in the 5th over. Captain Sharma departed soon after, at the start of 6th over, as Mumbai Indians scored 45 runs in the powerplay. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan were taking the match slow in hope of a partnership, but Suryakumar Yadav (15 out; 17b; m1X4) succumbed to Imran Tahir’s attack in the 12 over. Krunal Pandya (7 out; 7b) came to bat and without much of contribution walked back in the 13th over too, as Mumbai stood at 89-4 after 12.3 overs. Hardik Pandya and Ishan Kishan (23 out; 26b; 3X4) were taking singles, Ishan Kishan desperately looking for a boundary hits Tahir for one, and instead edges the ball to Raina at cover, just after Mumbai had crossed the 100 runs mark. Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard, started looking dangerous, with Pollard taking the lead, Raina misses for the second time in a Final as he drops Pandya’s simple catch in the 18th over, but Pandya (16 nout; 10b; 1X4, 1X6) goes out in the 19th over, and Rahul Chahar (0 out; 2b) followed suit in the 4th ball of the over as well. in the last over, Pollard was adamant to do the maximum damage with just boundaries, refusing to take singles. In the same over, Pollard purposefully lets a wide ball go, but Umpire decides not to call it wide, Pollard gets fined for showing dissent to umpires at the last moment decision, and hits the last two balls for fours, setting a target of 149 on board with the loss of 8 wickets.

At the start of the 2nd innings, Faf du Plessis (26 out; 13b; 3X4, 1X6) was wreaking havoc on the Mumbai bowling, but couldn’t last long, as he departed in the 4th over by Krunal Pandya, edging the ball to the keeper. Shane Watson took the charge from there on and dropping Watson in the 9th over seemed like a blunder by Malinga, while Suresh Raina on the other hand was clearly struggling to defend his stumps and even score singles. However, a struggling Raina (8 out; 14b) heads back at the start of 10th over, and Ambati Rayadu (1 out; 4b) in the next over. The great controversy came in the 13th over, when Captain MS Dhoni (2 out; 8b) got run out, a close call and also a confusing decision, but the decision of a wicket came as a game changer at the end of the game. However, Shane Watson (80 run out; 59b; 8X4, 4X6) was still at large, and taking Chennai steadily to a victory. Dwyane Bravo (15 out; 15b; 1X6) on the other hand, contributed a six and departed in the 19th over. The big break for Mumbai Indians arrived when Shane Watson falls short at the crease with 4 runs to win from 2 balls. Lasith Malinga though went costly in his 1st 3 overs, but had a great comeback in the penultimate moment, when Chennai needed 2 runs from 1 ball, and Malinga bowls a final Yorker to cease the wicket of Shardul Thakur (2 out; 2b) to claim the IPL 2019 trophy for Mumbai Indians.

You can share this post!